Contact Us

Cadence Weapon welcoming ‘Hope in Dirt City,’ remixed by Doldrums & Grimes (listen), touring w/ Japandroids (dates)

Cadence Weapon @ Hotel Vegan in Austin, TX (BV-SXSW 2012) (more by Tim Griffin)
20

Canadian rapper/DJ Cadence Weapon (aka Rollie Pemberton) is set to release his new LP, Hope in Dirt City, on May 29 via Upper Class Recordings. On Hope in Dirt City, Pemberton creates an interesting blend of soul and old-school hip hop, with a hint of electronic music. The album kicks off with a short track called “Get On Down,” featuring fast-paced, tongue-twisting lines and a drum beat reminiscent of Wu-Tang Clan‘s “Protect Ya Neck.” Next up is a relaxed soul jam titled “Conditioning,” which serves as the album’s lead single and was remixed by both Doldrums and Grimes. Take a listen to all three versions of the track at the bottom of this post. Stream Hope in Dirt City in its entirety via Exclaim.

Cadence Weapon will hit the road with Japandroids in early-June, acting as main support on about three-weeks of their North American tour. He’ll be on board for the duo’s Chicago show, which is taking place on June 21 at Lincoln Hall. Tickets are still available.

All Cadence Weapon tour dates are listed below, along with some song streams.




CADENCE WEAPON – 2012 TOUR DATES
Mon Jun 11, 2012 – Seattle WA – Neumos *
Tue Jun 12, 2012 – Portland OR – Doug Fir Lounge *
Thu Jun 14, 2012 – San Francisco CA – The Independent *
Fri Jun 15, 2012 – Los Angeles CA – The Echoplex *
Sat Jun 16, 2012 – San Diego CA – Casbah *
Tue Jun 19, 2012 – Denver CO – Larimer Lounge *
Thu Jun 21, 2012 – Chicago IL – Lincoln Hall *
Fri Jun 22, 2012 – Cleveland Heights OH – Grog Shop *
Sat Jun 23, 2012 – Toronto ON – Lee’s Palace *
Mon Jun 25, 2012 – Montreal QC – La Sala Rossa *
Tue Jun 26, 2012 – Allston MA – Brighton Music Hall *
Wed Jun 27, 2012 – New York NY – Bowery Ballroom *
Thu Jun 28, 2012 – Brooklyn NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg *
Fri Jun 29, 2012 – Philadelphia PA – Johnny Brenda’s *
Sat Jun 30, 2012 – Washington DC – Rock and Roll Hotel *
Tue Jul 03, 2012 – Minneapolis MN – 7th St. Entry *
Sat Jul 28, 2012 – Edmonton AB – Interstellar Rodeo
Fri Aug 10, 2012 – Woodstock NB – Dooryard Arts Festival (Mainstage)

* w/ Japandroids

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://chicago.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BV Chicago quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!