Contact Us

Mutual Benefit playing Lincoln Hall & a Saki instore on tour; Recorded a BV Session (watch!)

Mutual Benefit BV Studio Session…
Mutual Benefit

Jordan Lee’s art pop collective Mutual Benefit had a great 2013, plucked seemingly out of Brooklyn band obscurity when Pitchfork decided to award ‘Best New Music’ to their new album which also ended up on the site’s Top 50 Albums of 2013. No complaints here. “Love’s Crushing Diamond” has been on repeat around in our headphones as well, and we were more than thrilled when we managed to get the band into a Brooklyn studio to record some songs for us. Watch the BV Studio Session video below.

Mutual Benefit is about to head out on a tour that has them in Chicago on Friday, 1/17, for a Tomorrow Never Knows show at Lincoln Hall with the Rural Alberta Advantage and Kopecky Family Band. Tickets are still available for that great bill. AND earlier that same day MB plays a FREE instore at Saki with the Hymns. Saki is also hosting Diane Coffee (Shaun Fleming of Foxygen) in their store on 1/15.

All Mutual Benefit dates are listed along with the BV Session video below.


BrooklynVegan Presents – Mutual Benefit – Studio Sessions

Track Listing:
Advanced Falconry
Desert Island Feeling
Moonville Tunnel

subscribe to the BrooklynVegan YouTube channel for more

Mutual Benefit — 2014 Tour Dates
Mon 01/13/14 Great Scott Allston MA Frankie Cosmos, Krill
Tue 01/14/14 Il Motore Montreal QC Sea Oleena
Wed 01/15/14 Underground at The Drake Toronto ON Donovan Woods
Thu 01/16/14 The Bird House Grand Rapids MI Matthew McCue’s America, Precious Treats
Fri 01/17/14 Saki Records Instore, Chicago IL w/ The Hymns
Fri 01/17/14 Tomorrow Never Knows – Lincoln Hall Chicago IL w/ Rural Alberta Advantage, Kopecky Family Band
Sat 01/18/14 Turf Club Saint Paul MN Vacation Dad, VATS
Tue 01/21/14 The Cobalt Vancouver BC White Poppy
Wed 01/22/14 Barboza Seattle WA Julie Byrne
Thu 01/23/14 Bunk Bar Portland OR
Sat 01/25/14 Rickshaw Stop San Francisco CA Dan Casey, Dim Peaks
Sun 01/26/14 Soda Bar San Diego CA Jeans Wilder, Diatribes
Tue 01/28/14 Center for the Arts, Eagle Rock Los Angeles CA Emily Reo, Monster Rally
Wed 01/29/14 Rhythm Room Phoenix AZ Nova Joven, Tobie Milford
Thu 01/30/14 Padre’s Marfa TX Bear Force One
Fri 01/31/14 The Mohawk Austin TX Poppy Red
Sat 02/01/14 Fitzgerald’s Houston TX
Mon 02/03/14 The Earl Atlanta GA Sun Deko, Tantrum
Tue 02/04/14 Local 506 Chapel Hill NC
Wed 02/05/14 Black Cat Washington DC Teen Mom
Thu 02/06/14 Boot & Saddle Philadelphia PA The Interest Group
Fri 02/07/14 Mercury Lounge New York NY Leapling
Sat 02/08/14 Rough Trade Brooklyn NY Leapling, Norwegian Arms

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://chicago.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BV Chicago quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!