Before there were jet-setting superstar DJs, multi-day dance festivals, Ableton Live, laptops and CDs, there was Trax Records. Before there was trance, techno, drum n' bass, dubstep and every other dance music sub genre you can think of, there was pure house music and the label that started it all was Trax Records.

To celebrate 25 years in the business, on October 18, Trax Records will release a special two-disc collection showcasing some of the label's more underground and avant-garde tracks and a future full of promise. In addition to a musical collection, the package includes a special DVD documentary entitled The House That Trax Built, which tells the story of Trax Records and explores the relationship (and growth) between house music, the city of Chicago, and the international music community and fans. [Press Release]

You can stream the collection in its entirey via Trax's SoundCloud account, and head below to check out the tracklisting, plus a promo clip of The House That Trax Built.

01. Chuck Roberts - "In the Beginning"
02. Two Of A Kind - "Happiness"
03. Jamie Principle & Frankie Knuckles - "It's A Cold World"
04. Mr. Lee - "I Can't Forget"
05. Jungle Wonz - "Time Marches On"
06. Housemaster Boyz - "Trax You Lost"
07. Virgo - "Do You Know Who You Are?"
08. Hula - "Hot Hands"
09. Hercules - "Lost In The Groove"
10. DJ Rush - "Help"
11. Ralphi Rosario - "You Used to Hold Me 2011" vocal by Screamin' Rachael, Remix by DJ Gem

Bonus Tracks:
12. George Clinton & Screamin' Rachael - "Our House Is Funkatified"
13. 'Hip That House' featuring Bloodties